Terms and Conditions
RATES: Redwood Coast Energy Authority (RCEA) electric generation rates are proposed to be stable and cost-competitive. Any changes to rates will be adopted at duly noticed public meetings of the Redwood Coast Energy Authority Board. Changes to PG&E or RCEA rates will impact cost comparisons between RCEA and PG&E.
PG&E charges RCEA customers a monthly Power Charge Indifference Adjustment (PCIA) and Franchise Fee Surcharge. These fees are always included in our rate information. (Call (800) 931-RCEA to learn more.) These rates and cost comparisons may change over time. Financial assistance programs like CARE (California Alternate Rates for Energy), FERA (Family Electric Rate Assistance) and Medical Baseline Allowance remain the same with RCEA and will continue to be administered by PG&E.
If you are enrolled in any of these programs with PG&E, you will continue to be enrolled if you choose RCEA.
BILLING: You will receive a single monthly bill from PG&E that includes RCEA’s power generation charges. RCEA’s electric generation charge replaces PG&E’s electric generation charge. RCEA’s charge is not a duplicate charge or extra fee. PG&E will continue to charge you for electric delivery services. If you opt out of RCEA, PG&E will resume charging you for electric generation.
ENROLLMENT: California State Assembly Bill 117, passed and signed into law in 2002, requires that Community Choice Energy programs like RCEA’s operate as the primary electric generation service provider through an automatic enrollment process.
Accounts within RCEA’s service area are automatically enrolled with RCEA’s REpower energy service unless the account holder chooses to opt out or sign up for REpower+ 100% renewable energy. Account holders may request to opt out at any time, or to choose REpower+ 100% renewable energy. To sign up for REpower+, call (800) 931- RCEA or visit RedwoodEnergy.org.
OPT OUT: You may opt out of RCEA’s CCE program at any time by calling (800) 931- RCEA, or by visiting RedwoodEnergy.org. Please have your PG&E account information on hand to process your request. RCEA does not charge a fee to opt out at any time.
Please be advised that if you do opt out and return to PG&E’s bundled service, you will not have the option to return to RCEA’s service for one full year, subject to PG&E’s terms and conditions of service. Accounts will be transferred on the day the electric meter is read and cannot be transferred during the middle of a billing cycle. In order for your request to be processed on your next meter read date, your request must be received at least 5 business days prior to the date on which the meter is read. If you opt out after 60 days of service, you will have two options: 1) return to PG&E service immediately, paying PG&E’s transitional electricity rate (which varies and could be higher or lower than PG&E’s standard rate) for the first 6 months of PG&E service, or 2) provide notice of your chosen opt-out date 6 months in advance, then return to PG&E service at their standard rate after continuing service with RCEA for those 6 months.
FAILURE TO PAY: Redwood Coast Energy Authority may transfer your account to PG&E upon 60 calendar days’ written notice if you fail to pay your bill.