Community Advisory Committee

The Redwood Coast Energy Authority Board of Directors established a Community Advisory Committee (CAC) to support RCEA public engagement efforts and to provide decision-making support and input to the RCEA Board.

The CAC can have up to 15 members. Eleven are appointed by the RCEA Board, and four additional members were added through an open application process that was voted on by the full RCEA Board. CAC members serve 2-year terms, and all CAC members live in Humboldt County.

CAC meetings are held quarterly. Additional CAC meetings are held to address specific topics or situations as needed.

Community Advisory Committee Meetings

CAC meetings are open to the public and are held at 6 p.m. on the 2nd Tuesday of the first month of each quarter at RCEA’s office, 633 Third Street in Old Town Eureka.

Scheduled meetings:


Past meeting agendas and minutes:

January 14, 2020 – Regular Meeting Agenda | Draft Minutes | Public Comment

December 10, 2019 – Special Meeting Agenda | Draft Minutes | Public Comment 

December 3, 2019 – Special Meeting Cancelled

November 12, 2019 – Special Meeting Agenda | Draft Minutes | Public Comment

October 29, 2019 – Special Meeting Cancellation Notice

October 8, 2019 – Regular Meeting Cancellation Notice

July 9, 2019 – CAC Agenda | Draft Minutes

April 9, 2019 – CAC Agenda | CAC Minutes

January 8, 2019 – CAC Agenda | CAC Minutes

October 9, 2018 – CAC AgendaCAC Minutes

August 21, 2018 – Special Meeting Agenda CAC  Minutes

July 10, 2018 – CAC Agenda  CAC Minutes

April 10, 2018 – CAC Agenda   |  CAC Minutes 

Get Meeting Notifications

Subscribe to our Board of Directors and Community Advisory Committee meeting mailing lists by clicking the button below. Agendas are published 72 hours before regular meetings, or 24 hours before special meetings. Subscribe to our general RCEA News and Updates list, using the “Sign-Up” button at the very bottom of this page.

Current Community Advisory Committee:

  • Arcata: Norman Bell
  • Blue Lake: Kit Mann
  • Eureka: Kathy Srabian
  • Ferndale: VICE-CHAIR Dennis Leonardi
  • Fortuna: vacant. Interested applicants may contact Council member Dean Glaser:
  • Rio Dell: vacant. Interested applicants may contact Mayor Debra Garnes:
  • Trinidad: Richard Johnson
  • HBMWD: Craig Mitchell
  • County 1: Luna Latimer (Eastern Humboldt)
  • County 2: Matty Tittman (Southern Humboldt)
  • County 3: Tom Hofweber
  • Four at-large: 
    • Jerome Carman, Eureka
    • Colin Fiske, McKinleyville
    • CHAIR Larry Goldberg, Trinidad
    • Pam Halstead, Eureka
  • Board Liaison: Director Stephen Avis, Ferndale


In May 2016 the Board approved community engagement guidelines which included appointing an initial Community Advisory Committee (CAC) to facilitate public engagement and provide input to the Board. The Board agreed at that time that each Board member would nominate one community member to be appointed to the CAC who would serve for an initial commitment through 2016.  After launch of the CCE in May 2017, RCEA proposed continuing the CAC. The Committee subsequently met twice and reviewed and revised their Charter to reflect a new status as a standing committee that would meet quarterly.  Recently the Board of Directors Operating Guidelines was updated to include that the Board will appoint at least one RCEA Board member as a CAC liaison that will attend CAC meetings, but will not vote.

Contact Us

633 3rd Street

Eureka, CA 95501

(707) 269-1700

Privacy Policy


Sign up for our Listserv to get the latest news and announcements.

Sign Up

Follow Us

RCEA COVID-19 Response

Effective March 16, 2020, RCEA is temporarily closing its office to the public, to reduce the risk of spreading coronavirus (COVID-19). We will have some staff in the office during normal work hours, but employees will also be working remotely from home. We encourage you to continue to contact us at 707-269-1700 or by email Thank you for your patience.